skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

FGCU Foundation

Board of Directors


The 2014-2015 Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of twenty-seven Board Members, seventeen Chairpersons Emeriti, ten Ex Officio members, and five Foundation Fellows.

The FGCU Foundation is the channel for private gifts to FGCU through annual giving programs, planned gifts (outright gifts such as securities or real estate or deferred gifts through wills and trusts), and capital and other special-purpose campaigns. The Foundation's principal responsibilities are to raise awareness of the need for private support, to solicit gifts on behalf of FGCU, and exercise fiduciary management of those gifts.

The Board of Directors acts to ensure that the mission and purpose of the Foundation is being fulfilled and that all applicable policies and procedures are being followed. The Board may also vote into action initiatives proposed by its special committees.

Upcoming Board Meetings

  • September 24, 2014
  • December 3, 2014 - 4:00pm
  • March 11, 2015
  • June 3, 2015

All meetings take place in the Ballroom at the Cohen Center and start at 9:00am unless otherwise noted.
Committee meeting information is on the Notices page.

History and Mission

In 1993, a group of dedicated community leaders formed the Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation, Inc., to support the educational mission of Florida Gulf Coast University. The Foundation encourages, solicits, receives and administers gifts for scientific, educational, and charitable purposes, all for the advancement of the University.

  • Significant Foundation fund raising accomplishments include:
    • Foundation assets totaling $95.5 million
    • Endowed professorships totaling $15.7 million
    • Endowed scholarships totaling $48 million
    • Deferred gifts totaling $28.5 million
    • Issued scholarships in the amount of $1,725,300
  • The Foundation has an annual operating budget of $1,200,000 for fiscal year 2014-2015.


Miller Couse Chairperson
David Call Vice-Chairperson
Laura A. Holquist Treasurer
Steve L. Magiera Assistant Treasurer
Kimberly L. Johnson Secretary
Christopher J. Simoneau Executive Director
Wilson G. Bradshaw, Ph.D. University President


Pat Barton Alex Lambros
Angela Black Daniel Lavender
Jack Blais Vee Leonard
Timothy J. Cartwright W. Bernard Lester
Carlos J. Cavenago, III John R. Little
Janet Cohen David Lucas
Thomas Corcoran James Nathan
Barbara DuFrane G. Jeffrey Provol
Susan Evans Brian Rasnick
Dean M. Fjelstul Thomas J. Rice
Joseph D. Gammons J. Michael Rollo
Dennis Hansch Ambassador Francis Rooney
David A. Holmes Lee J. Seidler
Derek Jones Ronald Toll
Charles Ketteman Allen Weiss, M.D.


Richard C. Ackert Stephen S. McIntosh
Joseph R. Catti Edward A. Morton
Charles B. Edwards F. Fred Pezeshkan
Jeffery D. Fridkin G. David Powell
John D. Fumagalli Duane Stranahan, Jr.
William N. Horowitz Peter Sulick
Charles K. Idelson Linda K. Taylor
James F. Knupp Charles D. Winton
Donald Lesch  

Foundation Fellows

Fay Biles Ben Hill Griffin, III
Barron Collier, III Alan Korest
Juliet Sproul