Skip Navigation Links
FGCU Homepage

Board of Directors

The 2011-2012 Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation Board of Directors is comprised of twenty-five Board Members, fourteen Chairpersons Emeriti, six Ex Officio members, and five Foundation Fellows.

The FGCU Foundation is the channel for private gifts to FGCU through annual giving programs, planned gifts (outright gifts such as securities or real estate or deferred gifts through wills and trusts), and capital and other special-purpose campaigns.  The Foundation's principal responsibilities are to raise awareness of the need for private support, to solicit gifts on behalf of FGCU, and exercise fiduciary management of those gifts.

The Board of Directors acts to ensure that the mission and purpose of the Foundation is being fulfilled and that all applicable policies and procedures are being followed.  The Board may also vote into action initiatives proposed by its special committees.

Upcoming Board Meetings

September 12, 2011

December 7, 2011 - 4:00pm

March 7, 2012

June 6, 2012


All meetings take place in the Student Union Ballroom and start at 9:00am unless otherwise noted.


History and Mission

In 1993, a group of dedicated community leaders formed the Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation, Inc., to support the educational mission of Florida Gulf Coast University.  The Foundation encourages, solicits, receives and administers gifts for scientific, educational, and charitable purposes, all for the advancement of the University.

  • Significant Foundation fund raising accomplishments include:
    • Foundation assets totaling $65 million
    • Endowed professorships totaling $11 million
    • Endowed scholarships totaling $22 million
    • Deferred gifts totaling $25 million
    • Issued scholarships in the amount of $1,388,700
  • The Foundation has an annual operating budget of $950,000 for fiscal year 2010-2011.



James F. Knupp Chairperson
John D. Fumagalli Vice-Chairperson
Charles D. Winton Treasurer
  Assistant Treasurer
Miller Couse Secretary
Steve L. Magiera Executive Director
Wilson G. Bradshaw, Ph.D. University President





John R. Alexander Kimberly L. Johnson
Pat Barton Sydney W. Kitson
Jack Blais W. Bernard Lester
David Call John R. Little
Timothy J. Cartwright David Lucas
Barbara DuFrane  Jeff Provol
Andrea Fraser Thomas J. Rice
Guenther Gosch

J. Michael Rollo

State Representative Tom Grady

Ambassador Francis Rooney

Larry Hart

Ronald Toll

Angela Hodge

Jaynie Whitcomb

David A. Holmes

Paul Woods

Laura A. Holquist






Richard C. Ackert Stephen S. McIntosh
Joseph R. Catti Edward A. Morton
Charles B. Edwards F. Fred Pezeshkan
Jeffery D. Fridkin G. David Powell
William N. Horowitz Duane Stranahan, Jr.
Charles K. Idelson Peter Sulick
Donald Lesch  Linda K. Taylor



Foundation Fellows


Fay Biles  Ben Hill Griffin, III
Barron Collier, III Alan Korest
 Juliet Sproul