Section 508 Website Accessibility

Certain documents on this site are available as a Portable Document Format (PDF) file. PDF content requires Adobe's Acrobat Reader and can be downloaded by visiting

The University encourages anyone needing assistance in accessing content found on the University's website to contact the FGCU office or department that maintains the webpage. For an accessible version of PDF material, please contact FGCU Adaptive Services at or by calling 239 590-7956.

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Human Resources

Human Resources

Annual Holiday Schedule


FGCU 2016 - 2017 Holiday Schedules

Holidays which fall on Saturday are observed the preceding Friday and
Holidays which fall on Sunday are observed the following Monday.

Labor Day
Monday, September 5
Veterans Day
Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 24
Day after Thanksgiving
Friday, November 25
Christmas Day
Monday, December 26 (observed)
Winter Break (4 business days between Dec. 25 and Jan. 1)
Monday, December 26 through Friday, December 30 
New Year's Day 2017
Monday, January 2 (observed)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
Monday, January 16
Memorial Day
Monday, May 29
Independence Day, July 4th
Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day
Monday, September 4
Veterans Day
Friday, November 10 (observed)
Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 23
Day after Thanksgiving
Friday, November 24
Christmas Day
Monday, December 25
Winter Break (4 business days between Dec. 25 and Jan. 1)
Tuesday, December 26 through Friday, December 29 
New Year's Day 2018
Monday, January 1 


Please contact Human Resources with any questions regarding the observance of official university holiday.In addition, each Support Personnel employee is entitled to one personal holiday per year. The personal holiday is available to eligible employees on July 1 of each year to be taken prior to June 30 of the following year.

View FGCU's Holiday Policy and Procedure.

FGCU 2016 Holiday Schedule