Section 508 Website Accessibility

Certain documents on this site are available as a Portable Document Format (PDF) file. PDF content requires Adobe's Acrobat Reader and can be downloaded by visiting

The University encourages anyone needing assistance in accessing content found on the University's website to contact the FGCU office or department that maintains the webpage. For an accessible version of PDF material, please contact FGCU Adaptive Services at or by calling 239 590-7956.

Skip to site navigation Skip to main content
Skip to main content
Hunter Institute

Hunter Institute

The Hunter Institute of Early Childhood Learning

Jill Sherman, M.Ed., Director
Hunter Institute of Early Childhood Learning 
College of Education

Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Blvd. South
Fort Myers, FL  33965-6565

(239) 745 - 4341

The Annual Children & Youth Conference


 The Sixth Annual Children and Youth Conference
November 2016

Dr. Hendershott

Dr. Joseph Hendershott

Dr. Hendershott joined this year’s conference to address a topic of growing concern in southwest Florida: childhood trauma. Dr. Hendershott has an extensive background working with at-risk and wounded children and youth as a teacher and administrator in traditional, alternative and correctional education settings. Joe has been a keynote/featured presenter at both national and international conferences and has conducted extensive training and staff development on understanding and working with wounded students, emotional literacy, empathy, esteem-building and inclusive communities. We invite you to visit Joe’s website at: for more information.


Dr. Hendershott’s presentation was generously sponsored
by the Early Learning Coalition of Southwest Florida.

key note speaker

Dr Joseph Hendershott,
Keynote Speaker


2016 Conference

Dr. Michael Houdyshell, Dr. Eunsook Hyun - Dean
Jill Sherman - Director of the Hunter Institute, Diane Kratt

 2016 ConferenceConference 2016 - a full house!


Check back this summer for Save the Date information

 and details on the 2017 conference!


Thank you to this year's sponsors!