skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Parking Services

Parking Services
Related Links

Parking Services Division
Florida Gulf Coast University
10501 FGCU Blvd S.
Fort Myers, FL. 33965-6565

Phone: (239) 590-1912
Fax: (239) 590-1910
Email:parkingservices@fgcu.edu

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

 
 
  1. ARE VISITORS REQUIRED TO HAVE A PARKING PERMIT?
  2. WHAT ABOUT LOST OR STOLEN PERMITS?
  3. WHAT IF I SELL MY PERMIT TO A FRIEND?
  4. WHY DID I RECEIVE A CITATION WHEN I WAS ONLY THERE FOR A FEW MINUTES?
  5. WHAT IF I BUY A NEW VEHICLE?
  6. THERE IS NO PLACE TO PARK!
  7. MAY I PARK IN RESTRICTED/RESERVED PARKING AREAS?
  8. MAY I PARK IN THE GRASS?
  9. WHEN ARE CITATIONS WRITTEN?
  10. WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF I DON'T PAY MY PARKING CITATIONS?

 


  1.  ARE VISITORS REQUIRED TO HAVE A PARKING PERMIT?
    Yes. All vehicles must have a validly displayed decal or permit to park on campus. Permits for visitors can be obtained from the information booth, the Parking office or University Police Department.
  2. WHAT ABOUT LOST OR STOLEN DECALS OR PERMITS?
    You must file a report with the Police Department so that the permit can be tracked. Lost or stolen decals or permits will not be replaced and the registrant will be required to purchase a new decal or permit at a fee of $30 for Students, Faculty/Staff.
  3. CAN I SELL MY DECAL OR PERMIT TO A FRIEND?
    No. This is considered permit fraud. The fine is $100.00. As the decal/permit remains associated to the registrant, any unpaid citations and other violations are the responsibility of the registrant.
  4. "WHY DID I RECEIVE A CITATION, I WAS PARKED THERE FOR ONLY A FEW MINUTES?"
    Citations can be issued 24 hours a day, every day without respect for time.
  5. WHAT IF I BUY, SELL, OR TRADE MY VEHICLE?
    The original registrant may obtain a replacement decal for $10 upon presenting the original decal (or remains thereof, where possible) along with the new vehicle registration to the University Police and Safety. Permits can be transferred to the new vehicle upon registration.
  6. THERE IS NO PLACE TO PARK?
    There are over 5,000 parking spaces on campus. Not all parking spaces can be located near campus buildings. The parking garage and garage auxiliary accommodates both Faculty/Staff and Students. The University Shuttle service runs from McTarnaghan Hall every 15 minutes to north and south housing. West Lake Village shuttle operates on the hour and half hour.
  7. MAY I PARK IN RESTRICTED/RESERVED PARKING AREAS?
    No. Restricted/Reserved spaces include: Visitor, Reserved, Bookstore, Volunteer, SGA, or other designated signs. Reserved spaces are enforced 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Citations written for parking in a reserved space are $100 fines. (Exception – During certain events, restricted/reserved parking areas may be marked for parking.).
  8. MAY I PARK IN THE GRASS?
    No. (Exception – During certain events, grassy areas may be marked for parking).
  9. WHEN ARE CITATIONS WRITTEN?
    Citations are issued 24 hours a day every day without time limitations.
  10. WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF I DON'T PAY MY CAMPUS PARKING CITATION?
    If citations are unpaid after 10 calendar days of the date issued, a $10 late fee is assessed automatically.  Administrative actions for unpaid citations may include a “BOOT”, revocation of parking privileges, towing, impoundment, collection assignment and the withholding of grades and transcripts.