skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Staff Advisory Council

Outstanding Staff Awards


Oustanding Staff Awards

Congratulations to Carol DeLuccia and Kathy McElroy, the 2014-2015 Outstanding Staff Award Winners!!!!!!!



Nomination Deadline: Friday, February 6, 2015 @ 5:00 p.m.

The Celebration of Excellence will take place on Friday, April 24, 2015 in the Cohen Center Ballroom

The Outstanding Staff Awards program honors one Administrative & Professional (A&P) and one Support Personnel (SP) employee annually who have contributed outstanding and meritorious service to their department, the University and the community. Recipients of the Outstanding Staff Awards receive $1,000, generously funded by the Gabor Agency, Inc.; a plaque to commemorate the honor; a reserved parking space for one fiscal year; and special recognition during the Celebration of Excellence. 

Nomination Procedure

Any member of the FGCU community may submit a nomination for the Outstanding Staff Awards, including staff (Executive Service, Administrative & Professional (A&P), Support Personnel (SP), and OPS), Faculty (full-time or Adjunct), and students. To nominate a staff member (A&P or SP), please complete the electronic nomination form via the following link by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 6, 2015: Nominations received by any other means or after the deadline will not be considered. 

A nominator may nominate only one person per category (one A&P and one SP) each year. Nominators will receive an e-mail response confirming receipt of the nomination, which will include a printable copy of the submission. 


The following eligibility criteria have been established for employees who are nominated for the Outstanding Staff Awards.  Human Resources will verify the following:

  1. Eligible candidates cannot have received this award within the past five (5) years.
  2. Eligibility shall extend to all salaried employees in the SP or A&P pay plans who are at least a .75 FTE. Employees in the Executive Service classification are not eligible for this award.  Employees in Visiting, Temporary, or Emergency Appointments are not eligible for this award. 
  3. Nominees must have been employed by the University for a minimum of one year prior to the end of the deadline for nomination. For employees who work less than 12 months, one full year would be equivalent to the academic year or a minimum of 2 semesters.
  4. Nominees must have satisfactory performance and no disciplinary action during the one year prior to the end of the deadline for nomination. 
  5. Outstanding Employee Awards Selection Committee members are ineligible to receive the award.  S/he will be notified of any nomination(s), however, s/he will not be considered.
  6. Outstanding Employee Awards Selection Committee members are not permitted to submit nominations.
  7. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  8. Nominations must be approved by the nominee’s supervisor prior to consideration by the Oustanding Employee Awards Selection Committee.

If you have questions regarding the eligibility of an employee or their position classification prior to the nomination deadline, please contact the Human Resources Department at 

Selection Criteria:

Nominations are rated solely on the information provided by the nominator. Nominators are encouraged to cite specific and detailed examples of the employee’s contributions to the department, the University and/or the community throughout the past year when considering the selection criteria listed below. Descriptions as to why the nominated employee should be recognized for his/her accomplishments in support of the University help aid the committee in selecting the most qualified individuals.

Each nomination submission will be evaluated using the following selection criteria. When completing the nomination form, please provide information regarding how the nominee:

  1. Exhibits a strong work ethic
  2. Assists FGCU constituencies and our community beyond normal expectations
  3. Demonstrates initiative
  4. Has a proven commitment to the Mission & Guiding Principles of the University. (Please visit to view the FGCU Mission Statement.) 
  5. Effectively fosters cooperation and collaboration with colleagues and university departments 


Previous Award Recipients

2013/2014 Award Recipients:  Sally Berg (left) and Vanessa Cournoyer (right)

2014 A&P Outstanding Staff Award Winner (S. Berg)      2014 Outstanding Staff Award Winner (V. Cournoyer)

Listed below are the recipients of this award since its inception in 1998.

YEAR    A&P     SP
2013/2014   Sally Berg   Vanessa Cournoyer
2012/2013   Priya Thomas   Kendra Carboneau
2011/2012    Tamera Baughman   Emily Moretta 
2010/2011   Elspeth McCulloch   C.J. McFarlane
2009/2010   Tia Freiburger   Sigrid Davidson
2008/2009   Susan Thomas   Robert Green
2007/2008   Elaine Hozdik   Kathleen Crawford
2006/2007   Susan Evans   Wanda Smith
2005/2006   Michele Yovanovich   Lynn O'Hare
2004/2005   Deborah Dahlmanns   April Lattanzi
2003/2004   Ruth Rodrigues   Sonia Casanova
2002/2003   Dave Deiros   Barbara Cornellier
2001/2002   Vincent June   John Wilson
2000/2001   Rosemary Meza   Jennifer Crabill
1999/2000   Rick Shonak   Barbara Gray
1998/1999   Mary Banks   Charlie Weaver