skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Whitaker Center

Undergraduate Research

 
 

Undergraduate STEM Research Symposium and Chili Cook-off

Friday, December 5, 2014
Oral Presentations: 2:30-3:15
Remarks and Guest Speaker, Paul Woods, CEO, Algenol Biofuels: 3:15-3:45
Poster Session: 3:45-5:30
First Floor Whitaker Hall
 
Click here to submit an Abstract
 
Deadline for Abstract Submissions: November 4

 

The Center facilitates student research by providing assistance in research proposal development, selection of faculty supervisors, the IRB approval process, and locating research facilities, sites, and resources. In addition, the Center assists students and their supervisors in the publication and dissemination of the research results. We will provide leadership in the development of undergraduate research protocols that can be duplicated within the university and other post secondary institutions.

 

Undergraduate Research Mentors

Many faculty members from the Colleges of Arts & Sciences and Education, and the School of Engineering, as affiliates of the Whitaker Center, encourage the involvement of undergraduate students in their research activities.  The list below contains those faculty members that are interested in serving as research mentors, along with their respective interests.  Click on the faculty member’s name to learn more about their research interests.  Consider contacting them if you are interested in their research area.


Phillip Allman

Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Research Interests: Reptile and amphibian ecology and conservation, primarily turtles and tortoises
Phone: (239) 590-7974
E-Mail: pallman@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 121


Zanna Beharry

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7802
E-Mail: zbeharry@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 429


Derek Buzasi

Whitaker Eminent Scholar
Phone: (239) 590-1285
E-Mail: dbuzasi@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 224


Sulekha (Sue) Rao Coticone

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7528
E-Mail: scoticon@fgcu.edu
Office: LIB - 461C


Edwin M. Everham

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7169
E-Mail: eeverham@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 220


Peng Feng

Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
Phone: (239) 590-7377
E-Mail: pfeng@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 205


Chris Geiger

Associate Professor, Department of Bioengineering and Software Engineering
Phone: (239) 590-7355
E-Mail: cgeiger@fgcu.edu
Office: Holmes Hall 309


Jamie MacDonald

Associate Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7429
E-Mail: jmacdona@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 208


Scott Michael

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Research Interests:Development of anti-virals and vaccines against dengue virus.
Phone: (239) 590-7439
E-Mail: smichael@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 260


http://www.fgcu.edu/CAS/ChemistryBA/11590.asp Arsalan Mirjafari

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Research Interests: synthesis and applications of organic biomaterials specifically ionic liquids and green chemistry.
Phone: (239) 590-1270
E-Mail: amirjafari@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 442


Darren Rumbold

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7527
E-Mail: drumbold@fcgu.edu
Office: AB7 - 432


Michael Savarese

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7165
E-Mail: msavares@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 211


Yinghong Sheng

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7636
E-Mail: ysheng@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7-302


Ken Watanabe

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Research Interests: Gamma-ray Astrophysics using NASA scientific satellites. We also have all-sky monitor cameras on campus to study SPRITEs.
Phone: (239) 590-7565
E-Mail: kwatanab@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 261


Janusz Zalewski Janusz Zalewski

Professor, Software Engineering Program
Research Interests: Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems, Software Safety and Security
Phone: (239) 590-7317
E-Mail: zalewski@fgcu.edu
Office: Holmes Hall 411