skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Whitaker Center

Undergraduate Research

 
 

The Center facilitates student research by providing assistance in research proposal development, selection of faculty supervisors, the IRB approval process, and locating research facilities, sites, and resources. In addition, the Center assists students and their supervisors in the publication and dissemination of the research results. We will provide leadership in the development of undergraduate research protocols that can be duplicated within the university and other post secondary institutions.

 

Undergraduate Research Mentors

Many faculty members from the Colleges of Arts & Sciences and Education, and the School of Engineering, as affiliates of the Whitaker Center, encourage the involvement of undergraduate students in their research activities.  The list below contains those faculty members that are interested in serving as research mentors, along with their respective interests.  Please peruse the list and feel free to contact any faculty member that might be suitable for your needs.


Phillip Allman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
E-Mail: pallman@fgcu.edu
Office:


Sulekha (Sue) Rao Coticone

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Phone: (239) 590-7528
E-Mail: scoticon@fgcu.edu
Office: LIB - 461C


Dr. Nora Demers

Biology and Interdisciplinary Studies
Phone: (239) 590-7211
E-Mail: ndemers@fgcu.edu
Office: Whitaker 218


Edwin M. Everham

Faculty
Phone: (239) 590-7169
E-Mail: eeverham@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 220


Dr. Peng Feng

Professor of Mathematics, Department of Chemistry and Mathematics
Phone: (239) 590-7377
E-Mail: pfeng@fgcu.edu
Office:


Dr. Chris Geiger

Assistant Professor of Bioengineering, U.A. Whitaker School of Engineering
Phone: (239) 590-7355
E-Mail: cgeiger@fgcu.edu
Office:


Dr. Jamie MacDonald

Assistant Professor of Geology, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7429
E-Mail: jmacdona@fgcu.edu
Office:


Scott Michael, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 7439
E-Mail: smichael@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 260


Darren Rumbold, Ph. D

Associate Professor of Marine Science, Depart. of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7527
E-Mail: drumbold@fcgu.edu
Office:


Dr. Michael Savarese

Professor of Marine Science, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7165
E-Mail: msavares@fgcu.edu
Office:


Yinghong Sheng, Ph.D.

Department of Chemistry & Mathematics
Phone: (239) 590-7636
E-Mail: ysheng@fgcu.edu
Office:


Dr. Ken Watanabe

Assistant Professor, Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7565
E-Mail: kwatanab@fgcu.edu
Office: LIB - 449