skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Whitaker Center

Undergraduate Research

 
 

The Center facilitates student research by providing assistance in research proposal development, selection of faculty supervisors, the IRB approval process, and locating research facilities, sites, and resources. In addition, the Center assists students and their supervisors in the publication and dissemination of the research results. We will provide leadership in the development of undergraduate research protocols that can be duplicated within the university and other post secondary institutions.

 

Undergraduate Research Mentors

Many faculty members from the Colleges of Arts & Sciences and Education, and the School of Engineering, as affiliates of the Whitaker Center, encourage the involvement of undergraduate students in their research activities.  The list below contains those faculty members that are interested in serving as research mentors, along with their respective interests.  Please peruse the list and feel free to contact any faculty member that might be suitable for your needs.


Phillip Allman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7974
E-Mail: pallman@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 121


Zanna Beharry

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7802
E-Mail: zbeharry@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 429


Derek Buzasi

Whitaker Eminent Scholar
Phone: (239) 590-1285
E-Mail: dbuzasi@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 224


Sulekha (Sue) Rao Coticone

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7528
E-Mail: scoticon@fgcu.edu
Office: LIB - 461C


Edwin M. Everham

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7169
E-Mail: eeverham@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 220


Dr. Peng Feng

Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
Phone: (239) 590-7377
E-Mail: pfeng@fgcu.edu
Office:


Dr. Chris Geiger

Associate Professor, Department of Bioengineering and Software Engineering
Phone: (239) 590-7355
E-Mail: cgeiger@fgcu.edu
Office: Holmes Hall 309


Dr. Jamie MacDonald

Associate Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7429
E-Mail: jmacdona@fgcu.edu
Office: WH - 208


Scott Michael, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Phone: 7439
E-Mail: smichael@fgcu.edu
Office: WH 260


Arsalan Mirjafari

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-1270
E-Mail: amirjafari@fgcu.edu
Office: AB7 - 442


Darren Rumbold, Ph. D

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7527
E-Mail: drumbold@fcgu.edu
Office:


Dr. Michael Savarese

Professor, Department of Marine and Ecological Sciences
Phone: (239) 590-7165
E-Mail: msavares@fgcu.edu
Office:


Yinghong Sheng, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7636
E-Mail: ysheng@fgcu.edu
Office:


Dr. Ken Watanabe

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Phone: (239) 590-7565
E-Mail: kwatanab@fgcu.edu
Office: LIB - 449


Janusz Zalewski, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Bioengineering and Software Engineering
Phone: (239) 590-7317
E-Mail: zalewski@fgcu.edu
Office: Holmes Hall 411