skip navigation

Florida Gulf Coast University

Website Directory  

Office of Government Relations

Board of Governors


About the State University System of Florida

Florida's public university system includes eleven universities with an enrollment of more than 300,000 students, more than 60,000 faculty and staff, and an annual operating budget of more than $8.5 billion.

Article IX, Section 7 of the Florida Constitution was amended in 2002 to establish a statewide system of governance for all Florida public universities. As a result, the Florida Board of Governors was created in 2003 to operate, regulate, control, and be fully responsible for the management of the entire system consisting of eleven public universities. Responsibilities include defining the distinctive mission of each university and ensuring the well-planned coordination and operation of the system.

The Board includes seventeen members, fourteen of whom are appointed by the Florida Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate for a term of seven years. The remaining members include the President of the Advisory Council of the Faculty Senate, the Commissioner of Education, and the Chair of the Florida Student Association. The Board of Governors appoints a Chancellor who serves as the chief executive and administrative officer of the university system.

Assisting the Board Members in their responsibilities is a professional and administrative office created in July 2005 and led by the Chancellor of the State University System. The office includes three major units - the Office of Academic and Student Affairs, the Office of Public Affairs, and the Office of Budget and Finance - as well as the offices of the General Counsel, Corporate Secretary, and Inspector General and Director of Compliance.

Board of Governors, State University System of Florida
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 1614
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone (850) 245-0466
Fax (850) 245-9695