Trent Brown Profile

profile picture

Brown, Trent (DMA)

Bower School of Music & the Arts

MUS 0215

    Dr. Trent R. Brown is Associate Professor of Music at Florida Gulf Coast University where he directs all choral ensembles, teaches courses in choral literature, conducting and choral methods, and supervises student teachers in the Bower School of Music.  He serves as Artistic Director of the Symphonic Chorale of Southwest Florida, a professional core chorus of 85 singers, leading them in multiple choral-orchestral performances, collaborative concerts, and educational outreach activities each season.  Under his direction the Chorale released their first album, Our Spirit Sings, in January 2018. 

    As a Fellowship recipient for the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) International Conductors Exchange Program (ICEP) Dr. Brown spent part of his Fall 2017 sabbatical in Montevideo, Uruguay teaching at the university, and conducting concerts and workshops.  He conducted the 2017 Florida All-State Reading Chorus and frequently leads festivals, honor choirs, and workshops in Florida and beyond, most recently at the Corearte Choral Festival in Barcelona.  He is scheduled to conduct a performance of John Rutter’s setting of Requiem in Carnegie Hall in 2020.

    Under his direction the Chamber Choir has performed internationally including as a featured choir in the Kaunas Kantat choral festival in Lithuania (2017) and the Kunst und Kultur series in Vienna (2014).  The ensemble has performed at the Florida chapter of the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) convention (2015), the Florida State Music Teachers Association (2015), and the Florida Music Educators Association (FMEA) conference (2013). 

    Dr. Brown previously taught public high school in Minnesota and Wisconsin.  He has served ACDA throughout his career currently as Repertoire and Resources coordinator of Lifelong and Community Choirs.  He is an active member of FMEA, Chorus America, and the College Music Society.   He holds degrees from The University of Arizona (DMA), University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee (MM) and University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire (BME).