Leadership

President Michael V. Martin

Dr. Martin became FGCU’s fourth president on July 1, 2017, following Dr. Wilson G. Bradshaw’s retirement. He has more than four decades of experience in public higher-education institutions across the nation, including the University of Florida.

Martin earned a Ph.D. in Applied Economics at the University of Minnesota in 1977 and Master of Arts in Economics and Bachelor of Science in Business/Economics degrees at Mankato State College in 1971 and 1969, respectively. He has published research extensively and specializes in topics such as marketing, international trade and public policy related to economics, transportation and business logistics.

President's Website

239-590-1051 / president@fgcu.edu

President’s Cabinet


Deans

Dr. Clay Motley (Interim)

College of Arts and Sciences
239-
590-7155 / cmotley@fgcu.edu

Dr. Thomas Roberts (Interim)

College of Education
239-590-7806 / troberts@fgcu.edu

Dr. Chris Westley

Lutgert College of Business
239-590-7090 / cwestley@fgcu.edu

Dr. Huzefa Kagdi

UA Whitaker College of Engineering
239-745-4466 / hkagdi@fgcu.edu

Dr. Minh Nguyen (Interim)

Honors College
239-745-4569 / atnguyen@fgcu.edu

Dr. Tracy Elliott

University Library
239-590-7602 telliott@fgcu.edu

Dr. Shawn Felton (Interim)

Marieb College of Health & Human Services
239-590-7511 / sfelton@fgcu.edu

 

FGCU Core Values and Principles – Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

At FGCU we share the following core values and principles:

  • Diversity, equity, and inclusion are central to our commitment to excellence.
  • We value, embrace, and protect people of all races, ethnicities, genders, religions, abilities, and sexual orientations.
  • We collectively stand against any individual or group that practices any form of racism, discrimination, intolerance, hate expressions, or disrespect.
  • We expect that as individuals and as an institution we exhibit the highest levels of respect, integrity, fairness, and honesty.
  • We have a fundamental responsibility to educate beyond our campus and serve as leaders by modeling our values and principles in our community.
  • We serve to be a convener of informed, critical and respectful conversation that leads to diversity, inclusion, equity, and justice as part of social transformation.
  • We support other organizations in SWFL who share our values, principles, and commitments.

Endorsed by:

FGCU Faculty Senate

FGCU Staff Advisory Council

FGCU Student Government

FGCU United Faculty of Florida

FGCU United Campus Ministries

FGCU Black Faculty and Staff Association

FGCU President & FGCU Executive Vice President and Provost