First Year Experience

Logo2

Are you a first-year student who wants to meet new people? Learn your way around campus? Get good grades? Consider enrolling in a 3-credit elective course designed for new students to get off to a great start at FGCU.

Previous Students Have Said...

 

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What topics are covered in this course? 

  • Who is eligible to enroll in The University Transition?

  • How many credits hours can I earn?

  • How can students enroll in The University Transition?

  • Will there be a required book that students must use in this course?

 

Fall 2022 Course Offerings

Sections of The University Transition are taught on both Main Campus and in South Village within students' residence halls. All of the available courses for Fall 2022 are listed below.

Register Now

  • Main Campus Course Offerings

  • South Village Course Offerings 

 

Meet Your Fall 2022 Instructors

 

Andrew
Andrew Funari
Assistant Director, Sport Programs
Office: RECCTR 0101F
Phone: 239-590-7734
Anneliese
Anneliese Bayer
Undergraduate Freshman Admissions Counselor
Office: HH 0241
Phone: 239-590-7365
Caroline
Caroline Vives-Vietri
Assistant Director, Alumni Relations
Phone: 239-590-1062
Christina
Christina Kreiger
Director, Retention & Engagement Programs
Office: SVEAG 4001F
Phone: 239-590-7110
Chris
Christopher Saxby
University Registrar
Office: MOD4 0018
Phone: 239-590-7924
E-mail: csaxby@fgcu.edu 
Emma
Emma Reeners
Assistant Director, Aquatics
Phone: 239-590-7701
Heather
Heather Snapp
Outreach Librarian 
Office: LIB3 0225C
Phone: 239-745-4224
E-mail: hsnapp@fgcu.edu 
Cooks
Jammal Cooks
Assistant Director, Academic Initiatives and Assessment
Phone: 239-590-1832
E-mail: scooks@fgcu.edu 
Julie
Julie Gleason
Assistant Dean of Students
Office: CC 0267
Phone: 239-590-7722
JulieR
Julie Rose
Engineering Outreach Specialist 
Office: HE 0218
Phone: 239-745-4310
E-mail: jrose@fgcu.edu 
Lindsey
Lindsey Johns
Assistant Dean of Students
Office: CC 0258
Phone: 239-745-4672
E-mail: ljohns@fgcu.edu 
Maggie
Maggie Hohne
Life Skills & Athletic Academic Coordinator
Phone: 239-590-7049
E-mail: mhohne@fgcu.edu 
Michael
Michael Rafo
Coordinator, Fraternity and Sorority Life
Phone: 239-590-7729
E-mail: mrafo@fgcu.edu 
Natalie
Natalie Reckard
Associate Director, Residence Education
Office: ACK 0218
Phone: 239-590-1701
Ney
Ney Arias
Senior Director, First Year Experience
Office: SVEAG 4001E
Phone: 239-590-7111
E-mail: narias@fgcu.edu 
Nikki
Nikki Kirdahy
Director, Prevention & Wellness
Office: CC 0169
Phone: 239-745-4218
Tab
Tabitha Dawes
Director, Eagle View Orientation
Office: MCT 0223A
Phone: 239-590-7744
E-mail: tdawes@fgcu.edu 
TO
Travell Oakes
Assistant Director, Multicultural Development Initiatives
Office: CC 0274
Phone: 239-590-1852
E-mail: toakes@fgcu.edu 
Tricia
Tricia Miller
Academic Advisor III
Office: CCEA 0110
Phone: 239-745-4302
Valerie
Valerie Garcia-Rea
Project Director, Student Support Services Classic
Office: MCT 0212
Phone: 239-590-7939
E-mail: vgarcia@fgcu.edu 

 

Interested in Becoming an Instructor?

First Year Experience & Retention Programs is always seeking dedicated individuals to serve as an instructor for The University Transition. Faculty and Staff who are interested may complete the interest form below to be considered.